There is another NY Times article that you may want to check out, ‘The Little things add up in Fitness‘.

Apparently, a little moderate working out is best for keeping you active, preventing bode density loss and for living longer.

Those in the study who worked out harder were tired and had less energy, than those who just did a little.

sunset-backcountrygeezerHere is the issue for me:  What is your goal?  My goal is not to live the longest, though I am certainly enjoying being alive.  My goal is to get out to places that are beautiful, wild and lonely.  I want to be part of a greater nature rather than a greater race for stuff.

Fitness for me is not an end in itself, but rather a way to do the things that I think are not only fun, but can deepen my understanding of who I am and what I am doing on this planet.

A long time ago, someone asked me what my goal for life was – a sort of what do you want to be when you grow up question. I said the first thing that popped into my head,”I want to become subtle.”

That was the beginning of a long journey I will never complete.  To understand myself and the world around me on a deeper level – to see beyond the outlines of things and see what their meaning is.

Getting to the backcountry is one way to do that for me.

So while I believe I may live longer and have more daily energy to expend if I do moderate workouts, I will get a lot farther into the wilderness if I push harder. Sometimes the real goal needs just a little bit of crazy to complete.

The full NYTimes article is here.

Leave a Reply

